top of page
Search

Digital Note-taking 101

Updated: Aug 20, 2020

Digital note-taking is making an uprise and more and more people are getting involved with the new technology which allows you to write and keep all your notes on one device! This is perfect for someone who loses everything (me) and keeps your bag from aching with multiple folders. So I’m going to walk you guys through the process of starting to take digital notes.

Find your device

There are many devices out there which you can take digital notes on. If you’re looking to type notes a laptop would probably work fine for you, but if you’re looking to take handwritten notes you will want to consider an ipad, Microsoft surface pro or Lenovo tab etc.

I personally use the iPad Pro 11 inch 2018 model and it works perfectly for both school and work. But if you’re looking for a more budget option the latest iPad mini, iPad Air or ipad is compatible with the 1st generation Apple Pencil.

Accessories

Depending on wether you want to type or hand write your notes there are many accessories out there. If you’re looking to do both I recommend purchasing a keyboard case for the ipad as well as the Apple Pencil. There are many options for styluses, the Apple Pencil is by far the most versatile but many people use the Logitech crayon as it’s a perfect alternative to the Apple Pencil for half the price.



Find your app

Once you have your note-taking device you’ll want to find your note-taking app, personally my favourite is Goodnotes 5 and majority of people would say the same. However there are many other options like notability which offers the ability to add audio to your notes. These two are the main competitors for note-taking apps, however they do cost money although this is a one time purchase there are apps like OneNote and apple notes which are free. OneNote doesn’t offer the same seamless experience like Goodnotes and notability but it’s definitely a fantastic app.



Organising your notes

Once you have everything sorted you can now figure out how you want to take your notes and organise things on your device. I personally take handwritten notes on Goodnotes 5, I annotate PowerPoints and handouts on notability and in my lessons I type my notes on OneNote. I also keep a digital planner on the noteshelf app as the features are awesome. This is what I have found works for me but I recommend having a play around to find what works best for you.

Tips!

Use grid paper

Many note-taking apps have multipl paper choices and grid paper should be one of them. I’ve found using grid paper keeps my handwriting neat and tidy (more so than lined paper) as well as all my letters proportional.


Utilise split screen

With the new ipad OS you are able to open two apps side by side on the ipad, this meaning you can have your note-taking app of choice to one side and a google page up on the other side. This is very handy as you don’t need to constantly switch between apps.




Organise your ipad

In order to utilise your ipad to its full potential I recommend putting your most used apps in your doc, this makes it easier to open another app in split screen view. Also organising your files app so you don’t have loose files, when everything is in folders and organised it makes it much easier to find things.



Purchase a matte screen protector

I have found having a matte screen protector makes writing on your ipad feel more like writing on paper, also the slight friction helps with muscle fatigue so you can work for longer. However this isn’t essential but the one I use is from Paperlike!


Use sticky notes

In my notes you see on my instagram I always have little sticky notes where I will write important information or any questions I have. This makes it much easier to refer back to key points or any queries I have from that lesson. I use my sticky notes which are downloadable in my etsy store.

thank you all so much for taking the time to read this blog post, remember if you have any questions feel free to contact me on my Instagram @studyingdigital



Disclaimer: some of the links on this blog post are affiliate kings, this means I will get a little bit of kick back with no extra cost to you!


1,541 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page